Receive our daily newsletter

SEC Appoints Members to Investor Advisory Committee

The SEC appointed three new members to its Investor Advisory Committee. In addition, the SEC reappointed five members whose terms had recently expired.

The new members of the Investor Advisory Committee are as follows:

  • John Coates, John F. Cogan, Jr. Professor of Law and Economics at Harvard Law School, and Research Director of the Center on the Legal Profession;

  • Nancy LeaMond, Executive Vice President, Chief Advocacy and Engagement Officer, Community, State and National Affairs, AARP; and

  • Elisse Walter, Former Chairman, SEC.

The reappointed members of the Committee are as follows:

  • Stephen Holmes, General Partner Emeritus, InterWest Partners;

  • Barbara Roper, Director of Investor Protection, Consumer Federation of America;

  • Kurt Schacht, Managing Director, CFA Institute;

  • Anne Sheehan, Director of Corporate Governance, California State Teachers' Retirement System; and

  • Damon Silvers, Director of Policy and Special Counsel, AFL-CIO.

The committee was established under the Dodd-Frank Act in order to advise the SEC on regulatory priorities, the regulation of securities products, trading strategies, fee structures, disclosure effectiveness, and initiatives to protect investors within the U.S. securities markets.


Regulated Entities: 
Body of Law: 
SEC Inv. Adv. Comm.