Receive our daily newsletter

Three Governors Sworn in at the FRB

New and ongoing members were sworn in by Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System ("FRB") Chair Janet Yellen to serve on the FRB.

    The members are as follows:

    • Lael Brainard was sworn in as a new member of the FRB;
    • Jerome H. Powell was sworn in to serve a second term; and
    • Stanley Fischer, who became a member of the FRB on May 28, 2014 to fill an unexpired term, was sworn in to serve as Vice Chairman of the U.S. Federal Reserve.

    Members of the FRB serve for a term of 14 years. Fischer, Brainard and Powell join Daniel K. Tarullo, whose term expires in 2022, and Chair Janet Yellen, whose four-year term as Chair runs until 2018 and whose term on the FRB runs until 2024.

    See: Press Release.

    Premium Content

    Available only to Cabinet Premium subscribers.