National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) Materials


The National Credit Union Administration is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1970. The agency insures deposits at federally insured credit unions, protects the members who own credit unions, and charters and regulates federal credit unions. The National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund is backed by the full faith and credit of the United States. The Share Insurance Fund provides up to $250,000 of federal share insurance to account holders in all federal credit unions and most state-chartered credit unions.

A three-member Board of Directors oversees the NCUA’s operations by setting policy, approving budgets and adopting rules. Each Board Member is appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate. The president also designates the Chairman of the NCUA Board. No more than two Board members can be from the same political party, and each member serves a staggered six-year term.

This page includes the principal materials directly relevant to the NCUA.

On the left side of the page are the relevant Statutes and Rules.

The top right of the page, under Developments, are tools to keep Cabinet members current on regulatory developments: the Cabinet's regulatory news and links to the Cabinet Trackers for Change Management and for Rules in Transition, each of which can be filtered by agency.